SEARCHsearch icon
  • Hidden


batsford prize judges

Meet the judges

The Batsford Prize is judged by industry professionals with decades of experience within the creative industries between them. The judges for the 2022 award are still to be announced. The judges for the 2020–2021 award were:

Eleanor Crow is a designer and illustrator whose work has appeared on numerous book covers, in the UK and internationally. She has worked in-house at Random House, the Folio Society and Faber & Faber, as well as freelance, with occasional guest lecturing. Her book Shopfronts of London is published by Batsford with Spitalfields Life Books. 

Vaughan Grylls is a photographer, author and artist. His photography has been shown in the Photographers’ Gallery, Whitechapel Art Gallery and the Arnolfini. From 1996 to 2005 he was Chief Executive of the Kent Institute of Art and Design. In 2005 he founded the University for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham and Rochester.

Anne Kelly is an award-winning textile artist, author and tutor. Trained in Canada and at Goldsmiths College in London, she creates wall hangings and objects using a mixture of mixed media collage and hand and machine embroidery. She has written several books for Batsford, including Textile Travels.

Emily Haworth-Booth is an award-winning author, illustrator and educator who teaches at the Royal Drawing School in London. Alongside her debut children’s picture book The King Who Banned the Dark, Emily is currently working on a long-form graphic memoir for adults and other picture books. Her short comics have previously appeared in print in the Observer and Vogue.

Neil Dunnicliffe is Publisher of Pavilion Children’s Books. He has worked in children’s publishing at BBC, Penguin and HarperCollins, collaborating with many leading illustrators and authors.

Tina Persaud is an experienced publisher in the visual arts, leading the Batsford list for nearly 20 years. Passionate about art and applied art, she is the publisher of the bestselling Millie Marotta colouring books and was awarded Editor of the Year in the British Book Awards in 2016.